Parenting after 35

VENT-Poor grammar is making me nuts!

GAHHHHHH

What is wrong in our schools? Apparently no one knows proper grammar or spelling anymore?  Do people just not TRY anymore???

I was just over on another board I frequent and a poster asked if she SPELT something right.  WTH?  That's a variety of wheat, not a past-tense word for SPELLED.  And that's the third or fourth time I've seen that word used over there in recent weeks.

Why why why is this not a priority for people anymore?  Do they not care that they look so ignorant?  I sure-as-heck will make Charles know the difference between their/there/they're, two/to/too and all of the other commonly butchered English language rules.

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: VENT-Poor grammar is making me nuts!

• Right there with you mama!  I get annoyed about your/you're screwups too.  I am a lawyer and proper use of words is really important to my business, so maybe I am more critical than most about this issue.      

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • To be fair, English English spells spelled spellt. If an American spells it that way, however, they're either badly educated or just plain stupid.
  • Loading the player...
  • imagestever:
    To be fair, English English spells spelled spellt. If an American spells it that way, however, they're either badly educated or just plain stupid.

I'm Australian, and we use both versions, depending on the context (and, no, I can't explain or justify it!). But sloppy word use does drive me insane - when I first got to the USA, I really had trouble understanding people because of their poor grammar (not just the accents!).  

Baby Birthday Ticker TickerBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • imagestever:
    To be fair, English English spells spelled spellt. If an American spells it that way, however, they're either badly educated or just plain stupid.