Upstate NY Babies

Cutting out artificial colors

Is hard! We found out B was allergic to red dye 40 and yellow 5 (skin issues). Since we've limited her ingestion of these dyes, her skin has cleared up about 90% and she's been sleeping like a champ. Until we found out the dye issue, I never looked at just how many products have red or other artifical colors. But here's my issue.

What are some good products that we can keep in the diaper bag for her to snack on that won't break the bank? I don't want to have to keep packing the fresh stuff if we need to go quick. I checked out the health food area in Wegmans and I have such a hard time paying 4-5$ for a snack food. Right now, it's pretty much goldfish and various crackers. I'm new to this, and it's taking me hours to shop b/c I have to read the labels for this.

Also, her favorite food is those breakfast fruit bars. All of the ones I looked at have artificial coloring. Is there any that don't that you know of?

TTC since 6/2003. m/c 9/14/03 8 weeks, 5 chemical pregnancies, mmc 6/04 12 weeks, Michael born sleeping 5/25/05 at 22weeks always our angel, fought ovarian cancer and won, m/c 4/06 5.2 weeks and 7/07 6.6 weeks,Our Miracle baby girl born 4/8/10,mc 12/18/11 at 5.3 weeks, BFP 10/26/12 dating u/s on 11/8/12 showing a strong heartbeat!EDD July 4,2013. RCS on 6/27. Baby boy in NICU for 8 long and scary days before he was able to come home. We are now a happy family of 4

. imageimage

Re: Cutting out artificial colors

• It's tough.. even most pickles have dye in them, it is ridiculous.  Pudding, chocolates, mac n cheese..

I would check out the Annie's snacks, they have cookies, crackers, goldfish type crackers (although Pepperidge Farm does use natural colors in their goldfish now, thank heaven).  My kids love Veggie Booty, maybe Veggie Straws too?