Texas Babies

OB/GYN Recommendations

Hello!

I am looking for a great OB/GYN in the NE or Downtown San Antonio area.

Ideally:

Female

Very prompt with appointment schedule

Able to pay out of pocket on a payment plan (as I am an independent contractor without maternity coverage)

Will be there to deliver the baby (someone who's not on vacation all the time)

Not C-section crazy...unless of course absolutely necessary.

Any recommendations??  Thank you in advance!!

Re: OB/GYN Recommendations

• Has anyone been to Dr. Angela Akonye?
  • I love LOVE Dr Angeline Williams, she is in the Med Center though.  She only delivers at Methodist.  She delivered my LO but she does share call with 6 or so other Obs.  She is in practice with herself and has 1 nurse, very personal experience.  I always was able to get in and see her with very little wait time and she paid attention to my concerns and worries.  I am not sure about a payment plan. I paid a portion at one of my first appts and then by 28 weeks I paid the rest off.  I know she is not into C Sections unless medically necessary.  

I do not know much about Dr Akonye, I have been on deliveries with her (I am a NICU RN and she delivered at the hospital I use to work at) she seemed nice.  That is all I can tell you about her.  

• Loading the player...
  • I see Dr. Jacobs with Lonestar OB/gyn  in the medical center.  She delivers at Methodist and St. Lukes.  She is generally very prompt with appointments though there was one time last pregnancy where I did have a bit of a wait but that was due to her delivering one of her patients.   She says she delivers 80% of her patients.    I really like that she is the only doctor you see during your pregnancy but you do take a chance that another doctor in the practice may be the one to deliver you if she isn't available.