Canada Babies

Mind-Opening

I just watched The Business of Being Born.  Like all the books I've been reading, it was recommended to me by my sister, who is a doula.

I thought I was pretty sure about what I wanted my first birth to be like, but the more I read and watch and listen, the more I know that I want a better birth than what I can most likely expect in the hospital.

I don't want interventions that aren't necessary.  I'm not good with pain, but a woman's body was designed to give birth, and it knows what it's doing and what it needs, so I know I can trust my body to get through it.  I also know that most hospitals don't allow a woman's body to take charge of the birthing process.  Does that leave me with the option of a home birth in Canada?  More specifically, in Kelowna BC, where I am?

Of those on this board who have had a birth experience already, can I ask what you thought of it?  How did it go?  Were you satisfied with your experience?

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Mind-Opening

• Hi, is your sister going to be your Doula for the birth?

This is my first so I do not have any experience myself, but I have a Doula who has attended many births at the hospital, and both the nurses I have talked to and my Doula have said that the hospital is very happy to go with what you want to do, if you do not have a clear plan, then they may go toward a more medicated route (the nurse at our classes said this is mostly because 80% of births happen this way), but they will respect your wishes if you let them know what you want.

My Doula said the same thing, but she will be there when I go to hospital, and I think this is going to help me to keep to my plan (I hope to use hypnobirthing techniques and don't plan on using pain medication, I also want the baby to be put on my chest as soon as he is born, rather than being cleaned off first), as she can help to get across what I want from the birth.