Health & Exercise
Options

Training for first half marathon while pregnant.

Hi everyone,

Okay, so I am a newbie to running, but have really fallen in love with it and just started training for my first-ever half marathon about 4 weeks ago. The race is on October 23rd. I just found out this week that I am a little over 5 weeks pregnant, so I'll be 14 weeks at the time of the race. This morning when I went for my run (the first since I found out I was expecting), but freaked myself out so much that I couldn't even finish the 4 miles that I was supposed to log. I had to stop and walk so many times because I kept overthinking it and was getting so worried. Needless to say, I finished the "run" very discouraged and mad at myself. I have read that many expectant mothers run half and full marathons successfully, but I'm just nervous since this is my first and I've never really been a runner before (I've been running off and on for about a year, but consistently for about 3 months).

I haven't seen my doctor yet, but I tried to ask the nurse about it and she didn't seem concerned. So am I just overreacting about this or should I just defer the training until after the baby arrives? I would hate to do that because I don't like to quit things I start, but this baby is much more important to me. I would like to continue running 12-15 miles a week throughout my pregnancy if I defer the training. And advice would be appreciated!

Son 4/27/12, Son 10/15/14, Daughter 9/29/16....Baby #4 due 10/09/19!  Apparently we get really bored in January ;)

Re: Training for first half marathon while pregnant.

• Options

Hi katylady! Congrats on the pregnancy!! Guess it didn't take long for either of us, huh?