Illinois Babies
Options

Intro+Daycare Vs. Nanny Vs. Wanting to stay home!

I am about 17.5 weeks pregnant and this is my first time over on the Chicago board! I totally forgot to look for a local board until this morning! I live and work in Naperville.

I am searching Daycares in the area and people are telling me that I will be at least spending $1100 per month for daycare for an infant full time. I then looked into a Nanny which are cheaper but scare me. I really wish I could just stay at home and watch others children and make a living that way.

Anyone else going through this!?

Re: Intro+Daycare Vs. Nanny Vs. Wanting to stay home!

• Options
    I have a nanny, but it is definitely not cheaper than daycare.  I have found that with one child, it usually costs more to have a nanny than daycare.  With two children, it is sometimes cheaper or very close in price to have a nanny.  Hiring a nanny is a daunting task, but you will know if you find the right one.  My husband and I felt lucky during our nanny search since we found two candidates that we thought would be great.  I think I would prefer to stay home, but am scared to quit my job because I am afraid that I would never be employable again.  We could live off of one salary, but might have a difficult time paying for college.
  • Options
    I consider myself a SAHM even though I babysit two days a week. It works out well and I can bring my son with me. I created a bio on care.com and sitter city.com. And that is how I found the family I sit for.
    After many years and tears our baby boy is finally here
    Born 11-6-10

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

• Loading the player...
  • Options