Two Under 2
Options

Tips on how to deal with two under two?

How do you all cope? I will have 2 under 2 in December.  I am a busy professional, and my husband and my schedules are complete opposites!  I just want to know if you have any tips on how to deal with two babies (like during bathtime, feedings, bedtime, at the grocery store).  Thanks!
Pregnancy Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Tips on how to deal with two under two?

• Options

Bath:  I fill up tub (just a few inches) and then I put water in the baby tub.  I put DD1 in the tub with her toys, while undressing #2 in the bathroom.  I was #2 quickly and then dry her off, put on some lotion, and get her dressed (all done in the bathroom).  At that point #1 has had plenty of time to play, so I wash her quickly.  Then I take both girls to #1's room to finish getting her ready.  If I'm extra tired at the end of the day, I will bathe them in the morning.  Both girls have sensitive skin, so I only wash them every other day.

Feedings: One of our larger 2u2 purchases, was a big, upholstered glider/recliner.  DD1 can sit next to me and we can read a book or sing songs, while I feed the baby.  DD1 is pretty independent, so the majority of the time she doesn't mind me feeding the baby.  If she does meltdown, I turn on the TV for her.

Bedtime: If it's not a bath night, DD1 doesn't require much work.  Just a quick face washing, brushing of teeth, and some pjs.  Sometimes #2, is cranky in the evening.  I'll either give her to DH, make DH put DD1 to bed, or have DD2 in a bouncer in DD1's room (if DH isn't home).  I get DD2 ready for bed after DD1 is asleep.  Eventually their bedtimes will be the same, but right now DD2 goes to sleep later.