Military Families
Options

Germany

Hi All,

This is my first time to this board (usually I stick to the October 2011 Moms page) but this dilemma is pretty specific.

My wonderful husband is a Lance Corporal in the USMC Reserves.  I am so proud of him and everything he does.  I have gotten used to the idea that he is going to volunteer to be deployed every year until he actually goes - fine, I get it...great work/life experience and really great money.  But, having found out we're knocked up 2 weeks ago, he just told me that someone called him yesterday asking if he wanted to go to Germany for 9 months to work with their military as security.  I get it, still good experience and really great money but in all honesty the experience has NOTHING to do with his chosen MOS (motor-t).  I will of course support him in whatever he does but this time it feels personal.  They wouldn't be leaving until June (I will be about 5mos along) and there is little to no chance that they would send him back for the birth of our first child.

As always, I know that he doesn't want to LEAVE me but he does want to GO.

Advice? Experience? 

Re: Germany

• Options
    No advice or experience.  But I would be really sad if my DH left when he didn't HAVE to go and I was pregnant. Is this your first pregnancy?  If so, it's such a wonderful experience and you're going to want him to be there through all the milestones.  Seeing the heartbeat, feeling the first kick, finally starting to show, losing your mucus plug (lol) etc.
  • Options

I really don't have any advice other than really sit him down and explain everything he will be missing and how hard it will be on you, and there will be other chances to deploy. But in the end, if he really wants to go, he will go, and as his wife you need to respect that- that whole service before self/family thing.