Military Families
Options

Question for dual military parents

Both DH and I are Active Duty military.  I have the more standard schedule, as I work in healthcare.  He's a pilot, so his schedule changes quite a bit. 

We're about to have our first child.  I'm taking close to 3 months off between maternity/regular leave.  I will still have leave days left after I return to work.  We live on the opposite side of the country currently from any/all family. 

So, what do you do when your child is sick and can't go to the CDC?  Do you alternate based on who has the most flexible schedule that day?  Any suggestions? I'm not due until May 1st, but we want to plan ahead. 

Thanks!

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Question for dual military parents

• Options

Hopefully my post doesn't discourage you too much.  Lots and lots of people make being dual mil work.  I'm just not cut out for it. 

Our situation is very similar.  We are both AD Air Force.  DH is a pilot, and I work in the clinic.  When DH isn't flying or in the sim, he works a typical 7:30-4:30 schedule, but it's very difficult to get away from because he is often the only person working in his shop due to everyone else being TDY/deployed.  I almost always have the same schedule, except during exercises.  However, it is very difficult for me to take a day off of work because I have scheduled appointments with patients. 

What we have done so far is that whoever can take off more easily that day takes care of DS.  Sometimes this results in each of us staying home a half day.  When DH is gone, I just have to scramble to try to find someone to cover my patients.  It's very stressful.