Military Families
Options

Dogs?

Hello all! My husband is a medical student and is in the Army HPSP program. He is away this summer for 6 weeks of training. We're only in the third week and I am pretty lonely. It's the longest we've ever been apart and it's really been eye opening. I really want a dog to fill the void (and because I REALLY want a dog!), but DH is concerned about getting one with all the moving we will potentially be doing for the Army. DH loves dogs and does not want to get one if there is any possibility that we may have to part with it.

I know many of you have dogs. What are your opinions on owning a dog as a military family? Are the bases good places for families with dogs? We're both pretty new to the military and would appreciate insight from those of you who have been in it for a while. Thanks!

I apologize in advance if this is a silly post, I'm pretty new to this Smile

Re: Dogs?

• Options

well do you have someone to take care of it while you move? go on vacation? etc...

• Options