Preemies

So frustrated with feeding issues :(

I am just so frustrated/depressed/annoyed with our feeding issues.  With the choking, gagging, throwing up, etc.  I just want it to get better.  Now she was diagnosed with mild reflux so along with the neosure for weight gain, we are adding rice cereal to her breastmilk & then giving her pepcid twice a day...  I really wanted to transition into breastfeeding since I have been pumping for 4 months now but now what's the point?  We have to add so much crap into her milk that it would be stupid to breastfeed.  Just another thing we miss out on by being preemie moms.  I am just so depressed & sad about it.

& I have read on here that the rice cereal no longer works in breastmilk after 5 minutes (it dissolves) & that the pepcid goes bad after 5 days (I have a 30 day supply) so I just feel like I am spinning my wheels (don't feel like calling my Dr. & explaining that my internet friends said lalala and what are you going to do to fix it--so tired of being that girl). 

We have an appointment with a GI Dr. on 10/21 so hopefully she will have some info for us but who knows--it's a 2 hour drive & then the first meeting is just a consultation with the nurse practioner so that sounds like a waste of time to me.

Sorry for being so negetive--just having one of those bitter kinds of days.

Re: So frustrated with feeding issues :(

• I'm sorry, babe.

I don't know much about the Pepcid, does it also go bad quickly, too. I only knew that about prevacid.

Hopefully the GI doc will have better info for you. Don't count the NP out. I actually prefer the NP at our GI's office.

I wish I could give you a hug. After everything we went through, our biggest battle turned out to be food.. and it's *REALLY* REALLY* frustrating. Something that should be so normal and innate.. and no one outside of us gets it.. "if she's hungry, she'll eat." Wellllllll.. not so much..