Working Moms
Options

Does your Daycare discipline effectively?

My twins are starting this fall at 21 months and I'm concerned they are going to develop bad behaviors like hitting, pushing and shoving.  I know two-year-olds typically do this and I know the daycare I picked does enforce timeouts, but I wonder if they will be consistent.  Saying doesn't necessarily mean enforcing, but I am curious if your child did develop some habits at daycare.  Several people I know have had their child in this daycare since it's opening last year so I know it has a good reputation.  Thoughts?

Re: Does your Daycare discipline effectively?

• Options

our daycare is good about consistent discipline. that being said- i think what you do at home is more important.  I am a former K teacher (and also worked in daycare before that) and can tell you that no matter what I did at school re: discipline- kids will ultimately behave the way their parents let them behave- at least when they are at home.

My DS knows what is acceptable at home- if he tries to pull anything he's learned at daycare he quickly learns it will not fly at home. 

the best thing is when both daycare and parents agree on discipline and are consistent together.

i don't think time outs are bad (we do them sometimes) but i also don't think that should be the only way to enforce rules--- natural consequences tend to work best (ie- you fight over a toy- the toy gets taken away, etc). 

• Options
    You put them around other children anywhere and they will pick it up quicker than you notice.  At our daycare, they just redirect the little ones.  Once they're in preschool, they give TOs.  And, IMO, a lot of the hitting and biting wouldn't happen if they intervened when kids are not sharing.  But, I know that they can't always do that too. 
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    imageGoldie_Locks_5: