Working Moms

NWMR: Changing Job Responsibilities

Mobile users: NWMR: Changing Job Responsibilities

I work in marketing for a small business. They never had a marketing person before, and were losing business like crazy. I've been there for a year and a half and have succeeded in retaining our current users, but only attracting a small group of new users.

My boss has decided that the only way to get new people is to cold call them. Like, make sales calls. Everyone on my team is expected to do this.

I HATE getting these calls, and the thought of being a sales person and calling people really bothers me. It's not what I signed up for when taking this job, and it's def not in my job description.

My solution was to email people instead, and if they responded I'd then follow up with a call. That way it's not cold calling, and I wouldn't feel too awkward contacting them since they already started a conversation via email.

My boss found out I was doing this and I got reprimanded for it. I'm pretty upset.

So be honest am I in the wrong? The way I view it is that I was hired to do marketing, not to be a sales woman. It's not in my job description and I feel very awkward doing this.

Should I just suck it up?
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: NWMR: Changing Job Responsibilities

• In my opinion, yes, you were wrong. In a large company you can be secure in what your job entails but I think small businesses require positions with lots of flexibility. If you don't want to make sales calls, and it is now part of your job-- you need to find a new job.

Now, if your email then call method had some success, you can point that out and explain that you believe cold calling will turn people off-- but he doesn't have to agree with your or change his expectations.

Lilypie Fifth Birthday tickersLilypie Pregnancy tickers

• shannmshannm member
    I understand why you don't want to cold call people. Sales is one thing I have no interest in.