Multiples
Options

what kind of twins do I have?

Has been my question since 5 wks 3 days when we saw what we thought were two sacs. There are two babies that appear to be in two different sacs. My OB says she can't tell if they are identical or fraternal. We've had 6 u/s shouldn't we know by now? I know some cases you won't know unless bw is done after delivery but that's rare right?

4 Clomid cycles BFN's,3 injectible cycles BFN, 3 failed IUI's
Hystroscopy to remove cysts 11/2010
IVF #1 with ICSI Graydon Dane born Oct. 23, 2011 via c-section at 38 weeks.
Surprise BFP 10/9/12. Blighted ovum at 8wks. D&C 11/1/12.
Surprise BFP#2 TWINS!!! Boy/Girl twins.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Lilypie Angel and Memorial tickers

imageBabyFruit Ticker

Re: what kind of twins do I have?

• Options
    Im no expert by any means but from my understanding, identicals can be in a sac and have a thin membrane that seperates them. When I found out I am pregnant with twins we were able to see 2 sacs, 2 placentas and the tech was able to see that I ovulated twice from the right side so its likely my twins are fraternal. But there is still a chance that one egg didnt develop and the other split, although its not likely.
  • Options

Here is the breakdown. Out of all twins, fraternal and identical, 30% are identical and 70% are fraternal.

Fraternal twins are di/di (dichorionic/diamniotic). Every now and then, the two placentas implant close together and the placentas will fuse, to look like one.

Out of all identicals, 30% will be di/di, the majority will be mo/di (monochorionic/diamniotic, meaning sharing a placenta with separate amniotic sacs), and a smaller percentage will be mo/mo (sharing a placenta and amniotic sac, this type of twins carries the most risk), and an even smaller percentage will be conjoined.