Babies: 9 - 12 Months
Options

Sister in law- pissed me off! Breastfeeding..

So Im still breastfeeding my 9 month old, she may have one or two bottles of formula a day but mostly its just me. I was telling my sister in law about a woman I met who had been breastfeeding for 17 months,

Her- "What?! Thats so creepy."

Me- "What? Creepy?"

Her- "I think breastfeeding for a year or longer is super creepy."

Me- "How do you even say that to me? Ive been feeding her for 9 months with no end in sight!"

Her- "Ya but your weaning her arent you?"

Me- "No." In my mind I said, "No, ***.Thanks for the support."  This is coming from the girl who didn't even spend mothers day with her 4 year old, works full-time and works out after work so she basically spends NO time with him. Some moms are just so different. 

I should add that I am a working mom too!!! I work two days a week gone for over 13 hours on those days (nurse) but I work because we need the money. I do NOT judge working moms for working. I DO judge my SIL for never spending time with my nephew while she criticizes me for the bond I have with my baby. She hardly sees him and I just cant understand it!! Some women were not meant to be mothers and she is one of them.  

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Sister in law- pissed me off! Breastfeeding..

• Options
    Ya I get comments like that all the time. DS is almost a year and still has boobie time 6 to 8 times a day. Even my DH says "You are weaning him at a year right?" I told him that when my son wants to stop is when we'll stop. I have given him MANY links on the benefits of extended bfing.

Also I think it's weird that people think milk meant for a calf is somehow better than milk actually made for human babies....when DS does wean he will be switched to Almond milk.
  • Options