Miscarriage/Pregnancy Loss
Options

Miscarriage at 5 weeks

I had a miscarriage at 5 weeks. I had some light bleeding on and off for the past week since I found out I was pregnant and was very nervous the whole time. My doctor took a hormone test on Thursday and then on Saturday to find out if the levels were rising. Unfortunately, before I got my results back, I woke up in the middle of the night to severe cramping and bleeding, and went to the ER. I was in severe pain and knew what was happening. The doctor on call informed me my HcG level was currently at 9, so it was obvious that I had a mc. I spoke to my regular doctor the next day found out that my hormone level was at 50 on Thursday and then was at 40 on Saturday. I am nervous that my hormone levels never rose to begin with. Has anyone experienced something similar? I suppose I am just worried that I have a hormone imbalance but perhaps I am just being paranoid. I am heartbroken.

Re: Miscarriage at 5 weeks

• Options
    Your story is similar to mine. I would have been 6 weeks when I miscarried 2 weeks ago. I had light brown bleeding for 3 days. The third day I got an hcg drawn in the morning. That result was only 10. My repeat was two days later and after my natural miscarriage. The repeat was only 4. Because of those numbers the doc never needed to see me.
  • Options