November 2011 Moms
Options

Opinion.... Homeschooling

I was just wandering around on the bump and noticed the homeschooling board. I have a friend I see once in a while who keeps talking about homeschooling her kids. I can't give her the opinion she wants. I was wondering what your opinions are on homeschooling, and if you plan to send your LO to school or homeschool.

I have an incredibly biased opinion. I am a teacher, my mom has been a teacher for years, and I feel that yes there are flaws with our education system, there's something every child gets from being in school that you cannot emulate through homeschooling.  I teach first grade. At this age, they are still learning how to be in school, how to follow a schedule, how to sit at a desk, how to walk in line, and even how to talk to classmates. I feel students gain the social skills needed to function in any school or work environment, etc.

I'm starting to ramble, and yes I know my opinions are biased. I just wanted to get reactions from other moms.

Married 02.06.10
DS1 born 11.19.11
DS2 born 07.02.14

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Opinion.... Homeschooling

• Options

FI and I have not made a definite decision on this yet. Part of me wants to homeschool DD and our future children and part of me doesn't. I agree with you that school teaches children many skills beyond that of just reading, math, etc. but I do think i

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    imagealysson.lawless:

I was just wandering around on the bump and noticed the homeschooling board. I have a friend I see once in a

• Loading the player...
  • Options

Public/Private education for us. I don't have the confidence in myself to teach my kids every subject very well. That being said, I know that in some areas, you can work with a group of homeschoolers. So if you are great in one area of teaching, y

• Options