Babies: 0 - 3 Months
Options

Advice please! Back to work, offered new job..

Hi everyone. I am a new mom, I had my son Ryan on Dec. 10th of last year and am looking for a bit of advice. This is going to be long: 

So I graduated from college with a bachelors in accounting and in business. I immediately started working as an auditor. I chose auditing because of the money and travel. What I didn't realize was how crazy the hours are. I work 80 ish hours per week Monday-Saturday during the months of Jan-May (with no overtime or extra pay) and I'm traveling about 3 months out of the year. I don't get a lunch break or any other break during the day. I am literally on the go from 6am-8pm every day. When I am at home I am constantly checking emails and answering questions from my clients, reviewing my team's work and taking care of admin type stuff. We lost a ton of employees over the past year so I'm doing double if not triple the work for no extra pay or promotion. I get paid $53,500 per year which is more than enough to support my family.

I just had a baby 11 weeks ago and can't stand the thought of being away from him so much. I would love a 9-5 type of job so that I could see my baby at night and on weekends and actually be in a good mood and not stressed out each night when I come home. I started looking for jobs that fit that description and was offered a job yesterday.

This new job is Monday-Friday 8 hours per day (you can come and go whenever you want as long as you get your 8 hours so I'd go in at 7 and leave at 3 or 4 depending on if they'd let me work through my lunch or not). It is a senior accountant position with a Fortune 500 company. No travel. There are profit sharing bonuses each year and good benefits. The most any employee works there is 45 hours and that is when they are slammed. They are offering me $55,000 starting out.