Food Allergy

Soy Allergy questions

My 9 month old daughter is allergic to dairy and soy.  I'm still breastfeeding, and I'm committed to cutting out all dairy and soy from my diet.

I have the dairy part down, but I'm still learning about the hidden sources of soy.  It's in EVERYTHING!!  Anyway, for those of you who have gone through this, I have two questions.

First, the mayoclinic website says, "soybeans and peanuts contain common allergy-causing components, you may also need to avoid peanuts as well." If your child is allergic to soy, is she also allergic to peanuts?  I've actually been eating more peanut butter in an effort to soothe my craving for protein and sweets, but I'm wondering if I should switch to sun butter.  

Second, the mayoclinic website also says, "Some processed soy foods, such as soy oil or soy sauce, may not cause a reaction because processing removes certain allergy-causing proteins".  I've cut out soybean oil, soy sauce, soy lecithin, etc.  But it sounds like this may not be necessary.  Does anyone have a child who is allergic to soy but able to consume these products? I ask this very selfishly, as I am just dying for some Chinese or Japanese take out...  

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Soy Allergy questions

• I have found that every LO is different. Some can tolerate more than others. 

My lo is fine with peanuts and I eat tons of chocolate peanut butter to satisfy my sweets craving.

She can also tolerate soy lecithin but I only eat it in very small amounts.

I still avoid soy sauce, soy protein, and soy flour. The only time I eat soy oil is when we get chipotle and their rice is tossed in soy oil and my lo hasnt had a problem with it, but I still aviod it most of the time just in case.

I actually just recently found out about coconut amines and it is a replacement for soy sauce  and I love it. I had been craving asian food as well and made fried rice and it was good and I just made pad thai with it and it was great.