Pregnant after 35
Options

Doppler Frustration

I have a doppler that I got on Fetal doppler.net. It was cheap-maybe like $30. I feel like it doesn't work that well....But I'm not sure if my PGAL brain is making me nuts. I can find it but I feel like it's very slow....Is this common? I'm 19 weeks pregnant and I would think it would be easier to detect...

Thanks! 

m/c #1 6/30/05 m/c #2 9/18/06 m/c #3 9/18/08 BFP 10/21/12....EDD 7/6/13....Praying this is my sticky baby. Code snippet: HTML, Used for websites, email and some forums. Lilypie Pregnancy tickers

Re: Doppler Frustration

• Options
    If it's slow you may be finding your own heart rate and not babies.   I hear mine all time when looking for baby's.   Now that I am further along.  I can only hear babies for a second because baby starts moving away from doppler now ;-(
    BabyFetus Ticker
  • Options
    it's not that easy at 19 weeks. u may be picking up your heartbeat? I'm an ld nurse. as baby moving? should have heart rate 120160
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    A slow HB means you are hearing yourself (it happens a lot). Some people have a harder time than others finding the baby's HB due to where their placenta is (an anterior placenta tends to muffle things) and how the baby is positioned. I decided not to get a Doppler because I was afraid it would just add stress. Within the next few weeks, you will start feeling some baby movement, and then you'll know instantly that your LO is happy and healthy in there. For the first time today, at almost 32 weeks, I had the huge "crazy dance party" movements where my sweater actually lifted and moved back and forth.
    Over-40 parents...what we lack in vigor, we make up for with cunning.
  • Options
    If you get a stethoscope, you can hear the baby kicking and punching. I use that to reassure me that baby is happy-- sometimes, I can't feel all the movement because of positioning and I start to wonder if the baby is alright.