Special Needs
Options

I guess I should introduce myself

Hello, 

I'm new to this, please bear with me. My son is in the process of receiving evaluations for an Autism diagnosis or other spectrum disorders. He had his speech evaluation last week and speech therapy was immediately recommended. He is having his OT evaluation this week. It has already been noted he will most likely need food therapy (?) and he is getting his eyes examined tomorrow on the suggestion of the therapist. There are sensory issues, receptive speech delays, etc. We are on a wait list to get a screening for the local developmental preschool program but they are booked out through April. I'm getting very overwhelmed and my husband doesn't know how to process everything as he is getting all information second hand and thinks I'm making things sound worse than they really are.

No one but one of my friends know that we are seeking assistance. I don't know what will come of any of this but so far with the information given, I feel like I've let my son down. In regards to my son's behavior my in laws and father always give the excuse of he is 3, he will be fine, stop worrying, there's too much hype about disorders in children, etc. I wasn't worrying, until this past week. 

I hope it is ok that I post here. If not, I apologize. 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: I guess I should introduce myself

• Options

Of course it's okay that you post here! Many of us have been right where you are and know how hard it is. 

Don't beat yourself up. You're on the road to getting him the services he needs, and that's the most important thing. This is a lot to process and it takes time to adjust.