Military Families

Best Way to Support my SIL during her First Deployment?

Hello!

Intro, I'm a newbie, more over on Blended Families as my DH has a DD with his ExW.  I'm popping in here to get some info one how to best support to SIL  during her first deployment with her DH, my little bro.  He's in USMC, they met while he was stationed at 8th and I in Washington D.C.  For my family, it's his fourth deployment, the previous three were in Iraq, this one is Afganistan.  She's not from a military family and they moved to N.C. last summer, were married in Oct.  He's out of state on pre-deployment now, so she's been visiting home (MO).  

I would like some guidance on how to best support her.  I know this is a very, very emotional time.  They will be here for a weekend before he goes (we live in MN) and than get their honeymoon before he goes.  How can help her once he's deployed?  I'm not sure if she'll be in N.C. or MO.  I know we're going to bring her up here to visit while he's deployed, but I want to do more.  Care packages, cards, calls, texts?  We're friends, but not an overly close family.  I just want her to know we care about her and want to be as supportive as I can.

Thank you for any guidance!!!!! 

Re: Best Way to Support my SIL during her First Deployment?

• IMO the best way to support her is to stay in contact with her, but do it normally.  Don't call or text and constantly ask how she is feeling, how she is handling it, etc.  It drove me nuts when people would do that because I felt like they were waiting for me to say I was miserable or couldn't drag myself out of my bed crying.  Just call or text regularly to talk.