1st Trimester
Options

9wks & UTI

I had my first appt yesterday and the office called today to say I had a uti.  Anyone else have this happen?  I'm kind of freaked about having to take an antibiotic.  I've had a uti before and know what the symptoms are but I've had zero symptoms (guess I should be thankful for that).  

They prescribed me sulfamethoxazole-tmp.  Any experiences?

Re: 9wks & UTI

• Options
    I have no experiences with a UTI or with that medication but I just wanted to say that I started amoxicilling today for an ear infection. I'm nervous to take something so early, even though it's considered safe. But this pain and pressure is unbearable.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Pregnancy Ticker image
  • Options

i get chronic uti's and when i was pregnant the first time i was never given anything but macrobid, which is the safest. i was on sulfameth once daily for prevention for a really long time, but i have never been prescribed it to treat an infection. 

a lady on my bmb suggested taking garlic for natural remedy. i googled it, and apparently it really works. next time i get a uti i am going to try it.

i have gotten uti's almost every other month for the last 7 years.

drink a ton of water, and also i get a super cranberry supplement and it REALLY helps. 

• Loading the player...
  • Options
    I'm on the same antiobiotics right now for a UTI I'm almost 7 weeks. I did A LOT of googling on the antibiotics after my doctor prescribed them even though he said they were safe in early pregnancy, there's definitely a lot of mixed reviews out there but here on the bump I found a post where a lot of women said they had used that antibiotic while pregnant with no issues. I was definitely nervous about it but I only have 2 days left and my UTI has cleared up.
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Options