2nd Trimester
Options

Flu during pregnancy

I recently was diagnosed with Flu strain A and I am 6 months pregnant. I spent 5 days in bed (I have never done that before!) with fever, vomiting, sore throat, sneezing, coughing, and severe congestion. I managed to stay hydrated enough to stay out of the hospital an I'm doing much better now. Anyway, I was reading about a link between flu/fever during pregnancy and the baby having autism. I'm not super freaked out about it, just wondering if anyone has any information.

Re: Flu during pregnancy

• Options
    I work with children with autism and come across tons of research and honestly haven't paid a single thought to any while pregnant because there is so much out there but none of it proven. I won't mention them because honestly the worry and stress over them are probably more harmful. Focus on getting better and just enjoy your pregnancy and your baby. Seriously there are correlations like how close one lives to a freeway. Really? Don't think it's something you need up move over. With such a broad spectrum and range of diagnosis there are going to be random correlations that are most likely just that random and have nothing to do with the cause
    Image and video hosting by TinyPicImage and video hosting by TinyPicImage and video hosting by TinyPic

Jackson was born 8/11/2013 3:53 am 6 lbs 12 oz
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    Just curious but did you get the flu shot this year?
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

imageAshesha13: