Health & Exercise
Options

Snowboarding while pregnant?

My husband and I are avid snowboarders and are even chaperones for my son's ski bus. I recently found out we are expecting and I'm 6w2d. Has anyone else gone skiing or snowboarding while prego? I've found conflicting information online and I don't go in for my first appt for 3 1/2 more weeks. I don't want to sit in the lodge every Saturday but I'd hate for something to happen on the slopes. 

BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Snowboarding while pregnant?

• Options
    Um - yea...  I got the "no go" when it came to skiing while PG from my OB when I was PG with DD...  I was an instructor at the time...
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    I'm pretty laid back and "anything goes", but I'd definitely give snowboarding a "no."
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    I went skiing while newly pregnant with my LO. I didn't even know I was pregnant yet. If I had, I would NOT have been skiing. Falls can be hard. It's a risk I wouldn't want to take.
    imageimageimage

• Options
    Yeah I know it's just not worth it. I have had some pretty hard falls in the past. Any recommendations for a good book I can read while I sit in the lodge all day? LOL.
    BabyFruit Ticker
  • Options
    Rule is anything with a risk of falling should be avoided your entire pregnancy.  I wouldn't risk it.
    IAmPregnant Ticker
  • Options

I am still snowboarding lightly.  Ya, falls happen, but if you aren't going down double blacks, being stupid and hitting jumps, if you are good at it, at this point, your baby is extremely well protected.  I don't think it's a big deal as long as you are cautious.  I wouldn't take it up if you didn't know how to do it before, but since you do, just be careful and smart.