June 2011 Moms

Possible New Job Offer

I'm a Finance Manager in a relatively large local NGO, i got an offer as a finance manager in a larger operation of a multinational company. Current job is in the same city as we live, has a relatively decent pay, i can take permits or go to the doctor in lunch time and is 8:30 to 4:30 so im usually home by 5:30, new job is more high end and more what im used to from prior positions, is 8-5 but probably has more overtime during inventory, closing, reporting periods. The pay in my current job is average, but the other would have a 60% salary increase, as well as more money in bonus, an a car assignment (i have my own car thought) is in a different city but due to traffic is almost the same commute time to both, thought i wouldnt be able to do anything in lunch time because is in a rural area and theres nothing around. My DD is 18month.

Would you take the job knowingly getting more money but less time home with DD, or would you sacrifice the income and stay put? the offer sounds interesting and my skills will be more used, as well as i will get more exposure/trainning, but the downside is i would probably be home by 6 on the days i leave early...

Re: Possible New Job Offer

• I would definitely consider it, if I were you. The extra hours away from LO would be a drag, but for such a large salary increase you could save that money for a lot of your family's dreams (for me it would be larger home, private school vs. public school for LO, saving for LO's college, etc). I guess it depends on your DH's job/flexibility and your family's financial situation.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml