February 2013 Moms
Options

Should I ask about the work shower?

This year, I was asked to be an interventionist at my school. I've been teaching 4th grade for the past three years. This was a wonderful move as this takes away tons of stress, which is just what I need being a FTM.

There are three other interventionists at my school who are spread out between other grade levels (I'm over 3rd/4th). So that means I'm usually on my own when there are team functions.

I wondered how this would work when it came to my work shower.

I assumed that the team of interventionists would throw it and that it would happen a month before my due date, which would be January.

There is another teacher who is also pregnant and due three days before me.

One of the ladies on my intervention team let us all know that we were given an invitation to the baby shower of the other teacher who is pregnant, given by her team.

But there has been no mention of any baby shower for me. I feel so left out and forgotten but I know it would be bad to bring it up or ask.

In the response to the email that I recieved I gave subtle hints that I'd like one too and that I'd like them to throw it, but got nothing back. I don't plan on providing more hints or saying anything but just waiting.

What should I do or think though? I've never been in this situation before and am not sure how to handle this.

Thanks!!!!!! Smile

Re: Should I ask about the work shower?

• Options

Um, don't ask or hint about a shower.  Ultimately, there is nothing to "handle" since a shower is a gift.

Now, is it possible that the other interventionists are planning one OR that your "team" of 3rd/4th grade teacher is, but were waiting until closer to the date to announce?   

• Options
    imageJustinlove:

Um, don't ask or hint about a shower.  Ultimately, there is nothing to "handle" since a shower is a gift.