Trying to Get Pregnant
Options

Timing sex and OPK

I have a question, we are not really trying but I'd be thrilled if we were to get pregnant.  My youngest is a year in 2 weeks...anyways I am new to OPKs.  Kinda just trying to figure out my cycle if I even have one.  I have had one post-pregnancy cycle and the last few months nothing.  So we just got back from vacation and I told my husband I wasn't ovulating since my tests were all negative so we didn't bother going to the store for a condom...and my test this morning is a positive OPK!  Just wondering what my chances would be if we only did it last night?  I am a total noob at this sorry if this is a dumb question!
Image and video hosting by TinyPic Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Timing sex and OPK

• Options

imagefighter4:
    I have a question, we are not really trying but I'd be thrilled if we were to get pregnant.  My youngest is a year in 2 weeks...anyways I am new to OPKs.  Kinda just trying to figure out my cycle if I even have one.  I have had one post-pregnancy cycle and the last few months nothing.  So we just got back from vacation and I told my husband I wasn't ovulating since my tests were all negative so we didn't bother going to the store for a condom...and my test this morning is a positive OPK!  Just wondering what my chances would be if we only did it last night?  I am a total noob at this sorry if this is a dumb question!

I can be hard to tell. OPK's only tell you that your body is gearing up for ovulation, not that you are for sure about to ovulate. It's not uncommon to get a positive OPK but then not ovulate. Some women on here have even gotten multiple positive OPK's in the same month. 

Your best bet is to keep having sex EOD or ED if you can handle it for a while.

• Options
    Sorry EOD? ED?  I don't know those terms.  Thanks for clearing it up that it doesn't mean I have ovulated! :)