Babies: 9 - 12 Months
Options

10 month old won't sleep in crib at night

My 10 month old will not sleep in crib at night. At first I thought it was because his dad was away for the weekend but it still continued when he got back. He always falls asleep when I feed him his bottle (he does finish it) but as soon as I put him down he rolls over and stands up crying! and I mean crying. He stops crying as soon as I pick him and falls right back to sleep on me. It's only been 2 weeks but i can't take it. He's my first and only child, so I'm totally new at being a parent. I get so frustrated with him. Even I start crying. His schedule has been out of wrack lately because of the holidays. We have been up and about all last week. Plus my bf's sister was staying with us. But they have been gone for 3 days and no sign of improvement. Please help! He does stay asleep in his crib during nap time, the nights are hardest. ONLY WHEN HE WAKES UP AT 3-6AM!

Re: 10 month old won't sleep in crib at night

• Options

Well you're probably going to get a whole slew of CIO advice.  I don't do CIO and never have needed to BUT have you mastered the art of transferring the sleeping baby from your arms into the crib? 

I believe it is THE single most important skill for a parent.  I'm so serious.  I've gotten really good at it.  I still BF my 10 month old and she always falls asleep on me while BFing or we lie in bed together and she falls asleep there then I have to transfer her to the crib.  

So first I make sure she's super warm in my arms or on the bed and always make sure the blanket that she sleeps in is wrapped around her.  That way when I transfer her to the crib or pack n play she stays warm, then I throw another blanket over her and she usually stays asleep.  When I transfer her to the crib I also keep my arms under her for a few seconds then move them away, not sure this makes sense.