Baby Showers
Options

When to have a shower...

I do not know what to do about having a shower.  I know my mom or my best friend will throw the shower, but I live 11 hours away from both (recently moved).  I am due June so it is far away yet, but I'm not sure what to do. My friend is getting married the same month I'm due and we are having her shower (which I hope I make) in April.  April would probably be the best time for me as I'm a teacher and will have Easter break, but that is her shower.  I will not have another break until May which is probably too late to travel.  Should I not have a shower at home, have it earlier, or in May if I could do it?  I don't want to take my friend's spotlight and had to already back out of her wedding as I'm due basically the same day.  Any ideas?  Also is a shower via Skype tacky?

Re: When to have a shower...

• Options

I don't see why you'd think a month before your due date is too late for travel, unless you're high risk or have a medical condition I can't imagine a doctor telling you not to travel, its not a foreign country...

It's very considerate of you to think of your friend, but if that's the only day that works for you, she'll understand and unless you and she have multiple friends and relatives who'd be invited to both events and would have to choose - it shouldn't matter.

You seem to be putting the cart before the horse though.  Let someone offer to host a shower for you, then they'll figure out the logistics.

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    Shower via Skype yes, very tacky. Who does that?
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

I don't understand the concept...everyone gathers in one place with gifts and the MTB skypes in?  Someone acts as a proxy and opens gifts for her?