Special Needs
Options

Could this be SPD related?

I have been lurking on this board for a little while, but have never posted. I am kind of new to all of this, and I have a question, so I hope its ok to ask.

My son often wakes crying and complaining of foot and leg pain. This goes on for an hour or so, and lately I have been keeping track of it. I found that it is usually on days when he is over tired, misses a nap, or out of his regular routine. Could this be related to his SPD? I never thought of asking the OT and since it is a holiday we won't be going back till next week. Just curious if anyone else has dealt with this before. He is 3 and a half, rarely sleeps through the night, and has had night terrors often in the past. At first I thought it was just more NTs, but he keeps consistently saying that his feet are bothering him.

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Could this be SPD related?

• Options

I am probably going to be the weirdo all the way in left field here but from what we have been told at this age a child shouldn't have "growing pains" or anything of the sort.  P has a lot of leg/foot pain because of her tethered cord.  Does he have any other medical problems?  Any midline abnormalities (near his butt cheeks..like crooked crack or a dimple sometimes the dimples are low and you have to open their cheeks to see).  

Again, I'm only telling you this because we were misdiagnosed and P now has permanent bladder damage and it could be nothing or it could be something.  

DD1(4):VSD & PFO (Closed!), Prenatal stroke, Mild CP, Delayed pyloric opening/reflux, Brachycephaly & Plagiocephaly, Sacral lipoma, Tethered spinal cord, Compound heterozygous MTHFR, Neurogenic bladder, Urinary retention & dyssynergia, incomplete emptying, enlarged Bladder with Poor Muscle Tone, EDS-Type 3. Mito-Disorder has been mentioned