Natural Birth

Bradley Method

Hi all.  I think this is my first time posting, so I just wanted to introduce myself first.  :)  I'm a little early considering this, but I've started researching the Bradley Method and feel it is the best fit for us.  We found a teacher about 20 minutes from us who I've spoken with and has said that we can start now, but I don't feel comfortable knowing that when I end, I'll be under 30 weeks.  She had two books that she uses in class and one is from 1996, so I'm a little leery on it.  I don't know tons about this method, so maybe it's still good, but I wanted to get your take on it.  The book is Natural Childbirth the Bradely Way by Susan McCutchen.  I can only find this version of it on Amazon, where she recommended we purchase it.  Also a little leery that she rushed to send us an invoice, even though I told her we were still deciding and not likely to start a class until about 25 weeks.  I found her on bradleybirth.com, but something isn't settling right with me... maybe just because this is all just so new.

Any thoughts?

Re: Bradley Method

• A lot of the early classes discuss diet, which I think would be helpful earlier. I wish I had started earlier, we finished the classes at 37 weeks, and we only did 11 weeks. I found my instructor indirectly through the website, too (contacted the first instructor, who pointed me to the one we used).

We didn't buy the books, I just borrowed them from the instructor, but yes, that's the book I read and yes, it's a little old. It still has great information (I'd recommend it even if you're not going to take the classes.

If you're not comfortable with this instructor, though, don't do it. Maybe you could meet her first, though? Are there any other instructors in your area?

Pass the sheet cake.

BabyGaga