Stay at Home Moms
Options

Intro and a question

Hello, I just wanted to introduce myself and get a little advice. I'm a soon-to-be SAHM, sort of. A little background: I have a 3-year-old DD and a 6-week-old DS. I'm currently on maternity leave but due to restart work on Aug. 27. My husband is a teacher and so has been home with me and the kids since June 1. He goes back to work on Aug. 16.

I've decided not to return to work full-time. Instead, my boss has agreed to allow me to go part-time and work from home,which is great. The only problem is, I have absolutely no clue how I'm going to manage looking after a preschooler and an infant on my own all day. I'm also exclusively breastfeeding, so that adds to the complication.

I'm a writer, so I'll be required to work 20hr/week writing 6 articles every week. I'm just wondering how all of you managed your time. Do you have strict schedules? How do you fit in time with your older children while also breastfeeding so often (DS eats every 3 hours) plus time to get stuff around the house done? As my mat leaves winds down, I'm getting more and more stressed about all this. I'd appreciate your advice, especially from any moms who are also working from home.

Thanks!

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: Intro and a question

• Options

If I were in your position, I would hire a mother's helper or nanny to come in and watch the kids for the time that you need to work.  There is no way that I would be able to squeeze in 20 hours of work around a 3 year old and a newborn's schedule.

Good luck to you!

Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Options