Trouble TTC
Options

Tacky Boss! (cw's bfp mentioned)

I am a teacher at a private school and love the kids and love my job overall. But I am dreading the start of school because one of my superior's is the world's tackiest person. She is known for asking nosy questions all the time, and disguises it with friendly small talk. Unfortunately I have to see her every day because I have to walk through her office as I enter and exit the building.

A story:

Close co-worker (CW) friend gets pregnant, announces after POAS and tells the due date to boss. Due date is in the summer, every teacher's dream time to have a baby. Boss has small talk convo with me later that day and asks me "Aren't you so excited for CW? So when are you and H going to have kids?" I answer with "oh I don't know. We'll have to see!" Boss replies, "Well, when you do have kids, make sure to have a summer baby like CW. I'm SO glad that CW is due in the summer. Isn't that so perfect? She will be ready to come back by the first day of school!" And I'm like, "Yeah, that's great for her." Boss reiterates, "Yeah well just make sure you do, too, when you guys decide to have kids." With my eyes bugged all the way out I said, "Well it would be so nice to plan these things but of course you can't really plan anything in life" And then she looked really confused and said "oh yeah." I changed the topic.

That took place only about 4 months into TTC for us, but she mentioned several other times throughout CW's pregnancy how glad she was that it was a summer baby. I don't know how I will handle a conversation like that now that it's been 13 months and I'm more jaded and bitter. Yes I realize what she did is probably illegal but I love my job way too much and am too scared to lose it, to ever seek any recourse unless I was ever actually fired because of her shenanigans. There is no one to report her to because she is an owner as well.