Adoption

Question on anxiety disorder

Hi All,I'm a newbie to this board.  My husband and I began looking into internat'l adoption several months ago (although I have been researching it for yrs now). I was so disheartened to learn that my diagnosis of mild anxiety disorder (I take a daily low dose of Lexapro) makes us essentially ineligible for IA, including the waiting children programs in China and Korea, as well as Ethiopia, Kazakhstan... I never thought this would be such an issue and it has really been upsetting. I understand that schizophrenia or severe bipolar disorder would be concerning, but mild depression or anxiety that is treated and under good control? Even with a very favorable letter from my treating physician we were declined. If I successfully wean off the medication we may be able to adopt from China or Korea after a requisite period of time has elapsed, although I am afraid over time the rules will continue to get more strict.  For other countries, since the history will still be there they will not accept us no matter what.  Again, it is just so very disheartening.  I realize that domestic adoption does not have the same restrictions so we have recently begun looking into that too.  Has anyone been in a situation like this?  Just looking for some advice and input. 
Thanks so much!

Re: Question on anxiety disorder

• We did not have a similar situation, but we have had several people post over the years with similar issues asking about eligibility.

As the pp noted, it's more of a country-specific thing than agency-specific, as I'm sure you've gathered. From our experience with domestic adoption, and with other discussions, it shouldn't be a major impediment to you adopting domestically. You'll typically need documentation from your dr that you're expected to live a normal lifespan. And you may need something additionally that says you are well-controlled on your meds, just because of your history.