May 2011 Moms

Sleep training advice

To follow my last post, suggestions for eliminating the 1pm wake up and bottle.  Last night we tried letting her cry.  She cried hard for about 45 mins, was quiet for 10min than cried again for like 20 more minutes.  At that point I got a bottle and went to her.  As soon as I opened her door she stopped crying.  I tried rubbing her back and stepped away from the crib but she started fussing again.  I gave her the bottle and she went back to sleep.  Did I give up too soon?  How long should you let a baby cry?

Thanks for your help ladies!

Formerly the untaggable Mrs. D S Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker}

Re: Sleep training advice

• I'm by nO means an expert, and my child wakes up 3-4 times a night but, I posted this question on the AP board and someone suggested the sleep lady shuffle, and it's working! I'm not comfortable with CIO only because ( IMHO) I believe it teaches them that you are not coming or that if you cave in, they just have to cry harder for you to come in...anyway, with the sleep lady shuffle he cried the first night, with me by his side, for about 20 min, second night no crying and now I'm able to place him in bed I don't even have to soothe him ( I just have to be near) and he falls asleep on his own. All kids are different and parents have a different level of tolerance as well but in our case it's working.