Baby Showers
Options

Need sip and see advice

Also posted on 3-6 month board.

want to do a sip and see for this baby. I'm a professional event planner so I want to make it nice enough that I can add it to my portfolio. Here's my worries:

I would like to do it between 6-8 weeks after baby comes. I'm due October 18, doc won't let me go past the 25. So that timing puts me right in the Christmas timeframe, around December 1-8 for the party. 

My plan is to do as much as possible before the baby comes - even baking and freezing some of the desserts. But I know that it's impossible to do everything in advance, so some of the party-planning/decorating will have to occur after baby comes. I also have a toddler to take care of. Oy vey.

oh, and to top it off, I'm team green so I won't know baby's name ahead of time. I do want to go with a neutral theme (think Winter Woodland) but if it's a girl, I want to glam it up some.

So I guess I'm just looking for advice on how to manage it all, while healing and taking care of two kids.  

imageimage

Lilypie Third Birthday tickers

Lilypie First Birthday tickers

Re: Need sip and see advice

• Options

You'll just have to be as organized as if you were planning someone else's event. 

That's a bad window - you'll have lots of conflicts, I fear.

I don't know of a good way to make a party "portfolio worthy" without a lot of work.  I'd go low key and offer to host a killer meet the baby party for someone else.

The alternative is to hire help - either to do the work or to watch your kids while you do, but I think you're causing yourself lots of stress.

• Options

Won't  most of the people who are interested in seeing your baby have already seen it before December?? 

imageimage
    imageBaby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options
    imagejeffsjayme:

You'll just have to be as organized as if you were planning someone else's event. 

That's a bad window - you'll have lots of conflicts, I fear.