October 2012 Moms

stroller question: Usa vs Europe

I am FTM and we are looking around for our first travel set, we saw quite some that we like so far. They come with a stroller and car seat. However I have friends from Europe that work in newborn and kids stores and they are all saying that stroller should come with a car seat and a basket (design for newborn) that lets newborn "travel" in stroller in a laying position (laying flat) and that car seats should only be use for short trips that last 30 minutes or so. As FTM I am new in this and I don't know much about strollers so would love your opinions. Just want to make sure our baby boy will be safe when he arrives. Thank you!

Re: stroller question: Usa vs Europe

• In the US, only the very, very high end strollers will come with a "pram" attachment like you describe.  Some other moderate strollers will offer them as an optional accessory.  It is NOT necessary.  If you get a stroller that can fully recline, you can just lay baby in it if that makes you more comfortable, but realistically, he'll be fine in the carseat for outings.  When DS was really little, we were very rarely out of the house for more than 1.5-2 hours at a time, and even when we were out, he was often out of the carseat to nurse, for a diaper change, because he was fussy, etc.  

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • I would definitely recommend using the car seat in the stroller for when they are newborns. We took our daughter out for a walk and in our dazed state (due to lack of sleep) the stroller hit a rock we didnt see and the stroller sort of tipped (she didn't fall out nor did the stroller tip over fully) and if she hadnt been strapped into the car seat I would have been way more scared. Of course this may never happen but we learned our lesson. And as PP said, the baby will be out for feedings, diaper changes, etc so I dont think there should be worries about being confined for a prolonged period of time.