Working Moms
Options

HR/recruiters would like your POV please

How are schools like the University of Phoenix's online program received generally by employers?

I have an associates degree but didn't finish my bachelors. I work for a small company that had a "promote from within" mentality and had made my way to middle management but times (and the corporate culture) are a changing and I have stalled out, actually I stalled out a few years ago and am just now accepting that it isn't going to change.

Most of the jobs I'd like to apply for online want that 4 yr degree.

As a Mom with a full time job the online option is attractive to me but I don't want to throw my money away if there is still a stigma attached.

TIA for sharing your POV. 

Daisypath Anniversary tickers        Daisypath Happy Birthday tickers

Oct Angel*BFP 1/25/14 * EDD 10/6/14 * US#1 2/26/14 *US#2 3/3/14 no heartbeat*d&c 3/12/14*

BFP 1/17/15 * EDD 9/30/15

Re: HR/recruiters would like your POV please

• Options

Don't do any for-profit.  You are throwing money away.  They are not well received by employers, and the credits do not count if you want to go a legitimate university for any reason, either as a transfer student or to get a graduate degree.

I would look into a local public university; it will be MUCH less expensive, and many colleges and universities are starting to offer bachelor degree programs aimed at working / married adults who need more flexible scheduling.  Look for programs such as "Professional and Continuing Studies", etc. 

I know it is tempting to do the online programs, but in the long run you will be better off it you go to a more well regarded university.  You will receive a better education for less money, and you will also have access to services and good networks through the university's career planning office.

You can do it.  Don't sell yourself short with a for-profit degree.

• Options