Babies: 9 - 12 Months
Options

Question about feeding solids from 6-9 mo board

Hi,

DS is 8 1/2 months old.  He has been doing the 4.5 oz jars from Earths best.  At Breakfast he also gets some oatmeal and yogurt and at lunch he also gets some barley.  We just sarted giving him a jar and a half at lunch and dinner because he has been getting hungier.  I know at 9 months the jars go up to 6 oz, but there is such a little varity.  Do babies 9-12 months still eat jarred food or is this a tranisiton time to solids?  We have tried puffs with DS but he hates them.  I can't imagine he will be eating solids like mac and cheese or chicken nuggets in just 3 1/2 months. 

What has the progression of your childs soild eating looked like?  What can I expect at 9 months? Will he still be eating jarred food until a year or so?  I'm a first time mom so I'm new at this.  THanks for your help.

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: Question about feeding solids from 6-9 mo board

• Options

Around 8-9 months we started giving small finger foods before his jars. Scrambled eggs, toast, pieces of fruit, bread, etc. Anything he could grab that wasn't a choking hazard we just started working in. My DS is 10 months, and still eats the jarred food, but honestly, he's pretty much over them. He eats maybe a 1/2 stage 3 jar of Earth's Best at each meal after whatever solids he has had.

As to variety with Earth's Best, I have found it depends where you shop. Our Babies R Us has a much bigger selection than our Target, so we end up going there a lot of times.

Lilypie - (kMgL)

Lilypie - (tC3c)

• Options
    DS was eating the most purees at around 7 months. Since then he's preferred regular table food. We slowly added more table food and less purees and now he eats mostly table food and we supplement with purees sometimes. Mostly fruit purees. He never went for those puree "meals" in the big jars (lasagna or whatever).

BFP#1: 01/10, M/C 6w
    BFP#2: 06/10, M/C 5w