April 2011 Moms
Options

Question of the Week?

This question was submitted by shaindler (thank you). Sorry it is late again...my mom had back surgery today and this is my first time to get to the computer! I will have to post and run so my answer will go up tomorrow!

Share your worst boss story! 

photo 8e32bb2b-42a7-49d2-85df-cab52864175d_zpse525d043.jpg Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

BabyFruit Ticker

Re: Question of the Week?

• Options

I suggested this one since we had the virginity question before, and this one seemed "un-sexy" ;-) I put it on Working Moms as a GTKY sort of thing. I'll just paste my answer from there:

My worst boss ever was my first boss after graduate school. He was a very successful businessman who "bought a school"--like a charter school, and I was one of the three directors of the school.

He treated all of us like idiots. He would micromanage and tell me things like to use "small pieces of tape" when we were supposed to tape fliers or motivational sayings on the walls for students.

He didn't want the directors to talk when we entered kids' diagnostic test scores in the computers because he thought we'd be more efficient if we were quiet.

And he would bring his little daughters through and tell them that he was leaving the place to them, so they would be our bosses someday. There is nothing more humiliating than having a graduate degree, being an educator, and hearing someone tell a 6-year-old that they are going to be your boss. Ugh!

Since he "bought us" from someone else, my paperwork for my salary had been lost, so he decided to pay me according to the offer I'd turned down.