Natural Birth
Options

May risk out due to iron issues - frustrated

I'm planning this VBAC at a free standing birth center. Despite plenty of supplementation and diet changes my iron levels will not increase and I was told today that if I can't get my iron levels up I will risk out of the birth center.

I feel like I am doing everything right in terms of preparing for this VBAC. We are paying a ton out of pocket to stay out of the hospital, reading natural birth books out my ears, took Bradley classes, I do my exercises a ton, have been practicing my relaxation religiously, I've been tracking everything I eat for the past 5 months, we are hiring a doula, I'm going to the best pre-natal chiropractor in the region, and feel like I am already taking every natural supplement my MW has to offer to ensure things go well. I don't know why my body is not responding to the iron.

I have to get another blood draw tomorrow to rule out thalassemia, which I think is unlikely based on my heritage. I'm starting wheat grass shots today, becasue my platelets are low, per my MW and I guess I'm now shopping for a juicer to try and get even more greens in me.

I feel like I'm starting to make myself crazy in attempt to do all the right things to just be allowed to TRY and have a vaginal birth. To try and do something that may not work out regardless of our preparation, preparation that may not be enough to be allowed to safely try in the first place.

Edit: I meant to post this on the VBAC board but will take any input or suggestions from you wise ladies as this is natural birth related as well.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers AlternaTickers - Cool, free Web tickers

Re: May risk out due to iron issues - frustrated

• Options