Military Families

Moving advise please :)

We got orders to ft wainwright Alaska. I am new at this moving part. So any advise would be helpful. My husband hates living on base, but I'm wondering if we should try and get a house on post just so we know we have a place a head of time. How do you go about getting a place?  Would it be worth doing that or staying in a hotel till we get a house? 

Any ideas would be great

2nd question  

I have heard about parshal tdy (I think that's what it's called) or full tdy. What is considered full or parshal? Where could I get info on this?

H said they will move one vehicle up and we have to do the second. So he wants to drive. In jan to Alaska, that thought makes me scared. But would they pay for the gas to get up there, even if they are taking on vehicle already? And if I choose to fly will they pay for tickets to get us up there and gas for him? Lol

I really don't know how all this works, so any info on it or where to look would be amazing! Thanks lady's!  

Re: Moving advise please :)

• It's been about 3 years since our last PCS and it was cross country from Virginia to California. I don't think you mentioned what branch of service you are all in but we are Navy.

First check with your Family Support Office (ours is calls Fleet and Family Support Center) on base. They usually have classes at least once a month for first time PCS moves. This was a great help to us for our first move because we had no idea what to expect.