August 2012 Moms
Options

DH told the in-laws.

All they could do was whine about how he's the only one working.  For the record, I was hired recently, but they are waiting to get more new hires together before starting a training class.  Both families have been so freaking negative about this!!!  At least FB was full of congrats and happiness.
Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: DH told the in-laws.

• Options
    that sucks. keep ur head up. as long as u and him are happy thats all that matters :)
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Options
    I have a feeling that my reactions are going to be the same as well. DH and I are both still in school.
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker BabyFruit Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • Options

That's going to be the reaction from both of our families, I'm afraid. It doesn't matter that I finished grad school--according to everyone, since I have a master's degree employers are lining up at my door to hire me so since I don't have a job I'm just refusing them. DH is working part time while in grad school, but apparently he should be able to "manage a restaurant or something because he has a college degree already" and "he doesn't need more education, he needs to work." 

I'll also likely be compared to my dad's grandkids (I'm 26, one is almost 27 and the rest are 15-22, LONG story) who are in college and working typical college jobs while making their underage drinking very clear on Facebook. So, the reaction I'm expecting from some people is more along the lines of a teen pregnancy, not a 26 year old who has been with her partner for almost a decade.