Upstate NY Babies

Have you waitressed before?

After the crunching the numbers, DH and I realized that a little more than half of my paycheck is going to daycare every month.  So we are now looking into me working part time, and staying home with the kids during the day.  He's totally on board with this, and I am so excited!

So...

1.  Have you waitressed?

2. What did you love about it?

3.  what did you hate about it?

4.  Did you work a different part time job that you loved? 

thanks!

Re: Have you waitressed before?

• 1. I waitressed for 1 year in college

2. I loved the fast pace

3. smelling like mexican food(my mom wouldn't let me sit on the furniture until i took a shower), being the low man on the totem pole meant that when it got slow I was the first to get sent home

4. I was a pharmacy tech in college and really liked that

• 1. Sort of - I worked at a restaurant as a hostess for a little while in college (to earn money for a vacation) and did some waitressing with that.

2. I didn't love it.

3. The people, haha.

4. I worked in the ticket office for our performing arts center - and that was really fun. I worked every saturday and then the nights of shows and other events. If I were to get a second job it would be in anything BUT waitressing, actually. Preferably an office, but I've also worked at a grocery store and that wasn't nearly as stressful.

GL!! I hope you find something that is PERFECT for you! Would your current job give you a flex schedule/work from home type thing? A LOT of jobs are doing that now and it wouldn't hurt to ask! Esp since I'm assuming you would want to return to work full time once the kids are in school and I have a couple friends/family that are having issues with REentering the workforce.

• Loading the player...
  • I never have but my BFF did in high school and college.  She actually just went back PT and stays home with her kids during the day since her unemployment is going to be running out.  She loves it!