D.C. Area Babies
Options

Daycare question

We aren't planning to start ttc for about 4-6 months.  However, I've heard that the waiting lists for daycares can be 18 months or even longer.  For those of you who are using daycare, when did you first get on waiting lists?  Will they even allow you to be on a list if you aren't pregnant?

DH and I both work in DC and want to find a daycare near our offices.  Capitol Kids is very close to mine and I've also heard good things about Huckleberry Cheesecake.  Do any of you know anything about either of these daycares or have suggestions about websites, etc. to get advice about DC daycares?  Thanks so much! 

Re: Daycare question

• Options

I really don't know enough to be very helpful since I am new to the process, but I waited until I was pregnant (3 days after I found out) and got on waitlists at 4 places (including Huckleberry Cheesecake). ?I honestly don't know if that will be good enough or if I will get an opening anywhere when I need it, but I won't need anything full time until the baby is 6 months. ?I found the 4 sites through DC Urban Moms and some research. ?I went for places relatively near that had good reputations.

The thing to consider is that it is expensive to be on waitlists, and if you get a spot before you're ready, you may have to take it and pay for when you don't need it if you don't want to give it up. ?

Good luck!?

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    Pregnancy Ticker
  • Options

I live on Capitol Hill, so I researched a ton of centers near our house, and can recommend a bunch downtown. Moms on the Hill has a document I can send you with their top recommendations. Just email me@carrie.cc and I'll send it to you :)