Austin Babies

Job options?

OK, this is my first time creating a poll, so bear with me.

As a mom with young kids, what would be your ideal work situation?  I'm weighing job options.

Option 1 would be a full time job with benefits and would include relocation.  Summers off.  

Option 2 would be a part time job that would revolve around the kids school schedule.  I would work approx. 9-2 Monday-Thursday with Friday off for doing housework, errands, etc.  Summers off.  Option 2 would have no benefits and pay about 1/2 of the full time job.  No relocation.  The clincher with job 2 is that I would have to work for 1 to 1 and 1/2 years without pay while I was repaying a loan.     

[Poll]

Re: Job options?

• I voted ss. Would DH's finances be the same either way? Would option 2 mean that you'd be struggling financially? Also, do you enjoy more time with your kids, or do you feel your time with them is of higher quality when you've spent more time working out of the home? Is the place to which you'd be relocating a nice place, or are there people you know or opportunities to meet people?

Good luck!

ETA: That said, all things being equal, I'd go with the part time option.

• I voted ss too.  it would depend on where the relocation was. how would that relocation effect your dh's job and income? for job 2 would you have benefits through your dh, in which case it wouldn't matter if you had them through your job?
    Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • Loading the player...
  • SS here - how would it affect your DH's job? Would you still be struggling financially?

To me, it would be a lot of less stress if I was in a better financial position and that would make me a better mother.

Married and it feels so good! Lilypie Second Birthday tickers
  • If we could afford it and were able to get insurance through DH's job, I would totally do option 2.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml