January 2012 Moms
Options

I may never forgive DH if he does this. (Long, Vent, Advice Needed)

He is planning to go on a golf trip to Myrtle Beach president's day weekend in February. We will have a newborn under 4 weeks at this time (haven't given birth yet so this is a guess). I think this is so selfish to leave me by myself for at least 3 days to take care of a newborn. I am not close with his mom and will not be calling her or asking her for help (like he keeps saying that I "need" to do). It is not her responsibility, he is the freaking father! 

He keeps saying bringing up the fact that lacrosse season starts March 1st (I am an assistant coach at a high school) and I will be gone everyday (in the afternoon for a couple of hours!!) for that. He keeps saying it doesn't count as a job because we don't need the money. When actually we do because I quit my full time job to be a SAHM. 

I feel constantly mad at him because of this. I have no idea if he has paid for the trip yet or not. It makes my blood boil when I think that he doesn't want to be with me and his baby and rather be golfing and getting drunk wih his buddies. I have been pretty calm when talking to him about it, but I have reached my wits end. I really may not forgive him if he goes. 

Am I over reacting? What should I do or say? Is it time to just flip out and cry? 

Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Anniversary

Re: I may never forgive DH if he does this. (Long, Vent, Advice Needed)

• Options

I would be upset, personally, so I don't think you're completely overreacting.

I am essentially "demanding" the first two months after the baby comes to be concentrated on her and our marriage. That doesn't mean he/I can't go out and do things (on the contrary!), but trips away are a no-no. If he wants a trip away, then he should have done it before the baby came. Thankfully my husband agrees, so he took the trips he wanted (as did I).