Preemies
Options

How long will they keep me on magnesium???

Hello everyone, I made my first post yesterday a little about my story...im new to this so i dont know if im doing it right :P

Anyways, my question today is - how long will they keep me on the magnesium?? I came in on thursday and its now Tuesday evening. Ive been on the mag the entire time theyve just been increasing and decreasing throughout...Doctor and I both seem to think that the mag is the ONLY thing stopping it at this point and once it stops i'll just take off..obviously they cant leave me on it forever so at what point will they just let it happen? will they wait for my contractions to break through the mag?

My doctor said they cant leave it on 3grams like it was the other day- yesterday they decreased it to 1 but back to 2 last night because i started contractng yet again....i know no one can give me a deffinate answer because every doctor and situation is different, just looking for a little more information :)

BabyFruit Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker

Re: How long will they keep me on magnesium???

• Options
    How many weeks are you again? I know they try not to keep people on it for too long, but if it's the only thing that is holding off labor then they'll have to weigh the gestation versus the risks. Have they tried any other anti-contraction meds for you? I'm assuming they're monitoring your vitals/urine output/etc so they can make sure the mag isn't hurting more than helping?
    ~*~ Nikki ~*~ DS born 2/18/08! TTC #2 since 01/2009 11/01 Round #5 Clomid 100 mg, IUI 11/14, at 10dpiui 11/26 Beta:12dpiui 114 11/29 Beta:15dpiui 755 1/9/10 First U/S: TRIPLETS! 6/20/11 And then there were six... http://andbabiesmakesix.wordpress.com/ Lilypie Premature Baby tickers
  • Options
    32w2d. And yep they're doing all that. Im tolerating it very well so i guess that makes it easier too. But they havent tried anything else
  • Loading the player...
  • Options