High-Risk Pregnancy

Bedrest success :) My twins are here!!

Just wanted to pop in (between my feed/pump/sleep schedule!) and share with you all  my birth story! Kate and Violet arrived on November 17 after 11 weeks of bedrest. We went to the doctor that morning and had a sono/BPP, NST and were supposed to have a cervical check... Well the sonographer made the comment that while they were both head down, the side of Baby A's face was against my cervix instead of the top of her head. No big deal, I thought... she has plenty of time to twist into the correct position. Off to the NST we went! As I was sitting there hooked up to the monitor my doctor's nurse came in and very calmly said, "Dr W would like you to stop drinking your water." Ummmmm WHAT?!?! I am a nurse myself and that translated to only one thing.... she thought we might need to have surgery that day!!! YIKES! I told DH this as soon as the nurse left the room and proceeded to freak out.

She just as calmly said "Let's just chat for a bit first." (I should have been undressing and draping for her to check my cervix... not the case) She was concerned about Baby A's position and also we learned that Baby B's cord was wrapped loosely around her head. She feared if the babies got any bigger or we went into labor/tried for a vaginal delivery then we would be risking an injury to Baby A and a cord issue with Baby B. So she wanted to go ahead and get them out. Within minutes we were on the board for a 3 o'clock c-section.. THAT AFTERNOON! I was beyond scared... the only thing I've ever had "surgery" on was my wisdom teeth. Hardly comparable. She sent us home to get our things and we were back at the hospital by noon to get all checked in. Looking back I am glad I didn't have more time to think about it before it happened. I was anxious enough as it was!!